Exclusion of Morkel only surprise in T20 World Cup squad of Proteas

Randburg- The exclusion of Morné Morkel was the only surprise when the squad of the Proteas for the T20 World Cup in India was announced on Wednesday at the Supersport Studios. Reports Piet Lategan.

It is all about giving players the freedom to express themselves in the shortest format of the game and with that in mind a strong squad was chosen. Morkel missed out as David Wiese, Kagiso Rabada and Kyle Abbott got chosen to assist Dale Steyn in the fast bowling department as Rilee Rossouw and Aaron Phangiso returned to the squad.

The Proteas will approach the World Cup with lots of confidence having beaten India and Bangladesh in their last two T20 Series. If players like AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis, Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Rilee Rossouw and David Miller perform at their peak with the bat and Steyn, Rabada, Abbott and Wiese do the same with the ball the Proteas will have a good chance of bursting through the semifinal ceiling for the first time at a ICC tournament since 1998. Spin will also be of vital importance in the subcontinent so Imran Tahir and Aaron Phangiso better be on the money for the Proteas to have any success.

The Proteas play England on 18 March in their first game. It will be interesting to see if the Proteas have enough big match temperament when push comes to shove.

Proteas T20 squad:

Faf du Plessis (The Unlimited Titans, capt), Kyle Abbott (Sunfoil Dolphins), Hashim Amla (Cape Cobras), Farhaan Behardien (The Unlimited Titans), Quinton de Kock (The Unlimited Titans), AB de Villiers (The Unlimited Titans), JP Duminy (Cape Cobras), Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins), David Miller (Sunfoil Dolphins), Chris Morris (The Unlimited Titans), Aaron Phangiso (bizhub Highveld Lions), Kagiso Rabada (bizhub Highveld Lions), Rilee Rossouw (VKB Knights), Dale Steyn (Cape Cobras), David Wiese (The Unlimited Titans)

Pic: Zimbio