McIlroy wins Race to Dubai

Dubai- Rory McIlroy won the Race to Dubai for the third time in four years as he finished the year on a high note with victory at the DP World Tour Championship on Sunday. Reports Piet Lategan.

McIlroy shot a final round 66 to finish on -21, a single shot ahead of overnight leader, Andy Sullivan of England. In the Race to Dubai it was McIlroy again who pipped another Englishman in Danny Willett to the title.

McIlroy who was also crowned as the leading golfer in Europe after his triumph got outshone by American, Jordan Spieth in the Majors of 2015 with Spieth winning the Masters and US Open as McIlroy failed to win a single major in 2015. This victory makes McIlroy’s disappointing year easier to swallow for the Northern Irishman.

Pic: CNN